Chatham House: Independent thinking on international affairs

Climate Change 2012

Security, resilience and diplomacy
15-16 October 2012

Keynote Speakers

Rt Hon Edward DaveyRt Hon Edward Davey

Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change
United Kingdom

Christiana FigueresChristiana Figueres

Executive Secretary

Connie HedegaardConnie Hedegaard

European Commissioner for Climate Action
European Commission

Dieter Helm CBEDieter Helm CBE

Professor of Energy Policy
University of Oxford

Graham van’t HoffGraham van’t Hoff

Chairman and Executive Vice President, CO2 and Alternative Energies
Shell UK

The Honourable Peter KentThe Honourable Peter Kent

Minister of the Environment

Speaker Highlights

Dr David N Bresch Dr David N Bresch

Head Sustainability & Political Risk Management
Swiss Reinsurance Company Ltd

Viktor ElblingViktor Elbling

Director General for Economic Affairs and Sustainable Development
German Federal Foreign Office

Antony FroggattAntony Froggatt

Senior Research Fellow, Energy, Environment and Resource Governance
Chatham House

Richard GledhillRichard Gledhill

Global Leader, Climate Change and Carbon Market Services
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Professor Michael Grubb Professor Michael Grubb

Senior Research Associate, Faculty of Economics
University of Cambridge

Professor Debarati Guha-SapirProfessor Debarati Guha-Sapir

WHO Collaborating Centre for Research on Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)

Professor Zhang HaibinProfessor Zhang Haibin

School of International Studies
Peking University

Shahidul HaqueShahidul Haque

Former Director, International Cooperation and Partnership
International Organization for Migration (IOM)

Ambassador Richard H JonesAmbassador Richard H Jones

Deputy Executive Director
International Energy Agency

Bernice LeeBernice Lee

Research Director, Energy, Environment and Resources Governance
Chatham House

Nick Mabey Nick Mabey

Chief Executive

Oliver MortonOliver Morton

Briefings Editor
The Economist

Professor Virginia MurrayProfessor Virginia Murray

Head of Extreme Events
Health Protection Agency, UK

Richard MyungiRichard Myungi

Vice President's Office, Division of Environment, Tanzania
and first Chairman and LDC Board Member, Global Climate Change Adaptation Fund

Cleo PaskalCleo Paskal

Associate Research Fellow
Chatham House

Dr Steve RaynerDr Steve Rayner

Institute for Science, Innovation and Society

Dr David SantilloDr David Santillo

Chief Scientist

Dr Jamie SheaDr Jamie Shea

Deputy Assistant Secretary General, Emerging Security Challenges Division

Dan Smith OBEDan Smith OBE

Secretary General
International Alert

Jack Stilgoe Jack Stilgoe

Senior Lecturer, Science and Technology Studies
University College London

Thomas StockerThomas Stocker

Professor of Climate and Environmental Physics, University of Bern, Switzerland and
Co-Chair Working Group I, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Suggested Twitter hashtag: #CHClimate