Past eventResearch Event

Architects of the Euro

7 December 2016 - 8:30am to 10:00am

Chatham House, London


Kenneth Dyson, Research Professor, School of Law and Politics, Cardiff University
Ivo Maes, Senior Advisor, Research Department, National Bank of Belgium; Professor, Robert Triffin Chair, University of Louvain
Lionel Price, Head, International Division, Bank of England (1984-90)
Chair: Jim Rollo, Associate Fellow, International Economics Department, Chatham House



Who were the key figures in the making of the European Monetary Union (EMU)? Which ideas did they contribute to ensure that monetary union would be sustainable and how prescient were they in identifying the necessary foundations of a sustainable unification?

This book provides the first systematic historical examination of the key architects of the EMU in the period before its launch in 1999. Using original archival research and interviews, it investigates the intellectual backgrounds and careers of these architects, their networking skills and their own doubts and reservations about the way in which monetary unification was being constructed. The book brings together a distinguished group of scholars working on the history of Europe’s Economic and Monetary Union.

This event is organized in cooperation with the Gutt Foundation.

Please note, breakfast will be served from 8am.