Past eventResearch Event

Angola: Celebrating Ten Years of Peace

17 April 2012 - 2:00pm to 5:30pm

Chatham House, London


HE Miguel Gaspar Fernandes Neto, Angolan Ambassador to the UK
Alex Vines OBE, Research Director, Areas Studies and International Law; and Head, Africa Programme, Chatham House
Dr Christopher Alden, Reader, Department of International Relations, LSE
Dr Justin Pearce, ESRC Postdoctoral Fellow, SOAS
Lauren Cobham, Desk Officer for Angola, Mines Advisory Group International
Ralph Publicover, British Ambassador to Angola (2005-07)
David Sogge, Board Member, Transnational Institute
Nicholas Shaxson, Associate Fellow, Africa Programme, Chatham House
Markus Weimer, Research Fellow, and Coordinator of the Angola Forum, Africa Programme, Chatham House
Professor David Simon, Royal Holloway University of London



The Luena Memorandum of Understanding between the MPLA and UNITA signed on 4 April 2002 brought to an end nearly three decades of war, and so this year Angola marks its first decade of peace.

This event will focus on changes in Angola over the last decade, from the legacies of conflict, political and social transformation, to its economic achievements. The event will also be forward-looking - considering future opportunities in Angola and its growing international influence.

During the coffee break there will be a display of photographs by award-winning photographer John Liebenberg.

This event is supported by Sonangol.