Founder and Chairman, Rasmussen Global; Secretary General, NATO (2009-2014); Prime Minister of Denmark (2001-2009)


Anders Fogh Rasmussen is a former Secretary General of NATO and former Prime Minister of Denmark. During the 1980s, he served as deputy chairman of the Danish Liberal Party and Minister of Taxation. He was promoted to Minister of Economic Affairs in 1990 and was Denmark’s signatory to the Maastricht Treaty, which led to the single currency. He played a key role in membership accession talks in 2002 during the Danish presidency of the EU and firmly believes the enlargements of the EU and NATO have contributed to peace, progress and prosperity in Europe. As Secretary General of NATO he oversaw six operations on three continents, including Afghanistan, Kosovo and Libya. He also launched ‘Smart Defence’ to help nations make more efficient use of resources through multinational cooperation. He has an MSc in Economics.