14 December 2011


The Council of the Royal Institute of International Affairs at Chatham House has elected Stuart Popham as its next Chairman. He will take over from Dr DeAnne Julius in July 2012, when she steps down after nine years in the post. 

Mr Popham was selected by a search committee led by Sir Roderic Lyne, Deputy Chairman of Chatham House Council. He is currently Vice Chairman of Banking for Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) at Citigroup and was previously the Senior Partner, Worldwide, at Clifford Chance LLP. Mr Popham has also been a member of the institute’s Council since 2005. As Chairman of Chatham House he will chair the institute's board of trustees which is responsible, under the rules of the Charities Commission, for corporate governance and financial soundness, as well as the strategic direction of the institute. 

Chatham House has seen significant change and expansion since DeAnne Julius became chairman in 2003. Research is now firmly at the core of its activities and its full-time staff has grown from 62 to 107 and total revenue has more than doubled. For the last three years, Chatham House has been voted by its international peers as the world's leading non-US think tank.* 

DeAnne Julius said: 

'I am delighted that Stuart is to become Chatham House's next Chairman. It has been a great privilege for me to lead the institute over the last nine years and I am pleased with the progress we have made. The institute has built a strong reputation for its policy work on the world’s most challenging international problems. But there is more to be done. Together with our many supporters and individual members, we have big ambitions to make our London base a research hub for the new thinkers and actors in the G-20 world. Stuart is perfectly placed to lead this effort with his long experience of international business and government relations. I know that he will bring energy and commitment to the role and I warmly congratulate him on this exciting appointment.' 

Stuart Popham said: 

'I am thrilled to be elected Chairman of Chatham House. Taking over from DeAnne Julius is both an honour and a challenge and I will do my utmost to be a worthy successor. With my role at Citigroup, the most international of banks, and previously at Clifford Chance, I hope my experience will contribute to the continuing development of Chatham House, a wonderful organization at the centre of international affairs in such interesting times.'

Notes to Editors  

Governance of Chatham House 

The governance of Chatham House is overseen by its Council under its current Chairman Dr DeAnne Julius. The Director is Dr Robin Niblett, who has executive authority for the management of the institute. Chatham House has three honorary Presidents, one from each of the major political parties at Westminster - a reflection of its independence from party politics and government. 

Selection of the Chairman 

Chatham House adopted a rigorous, criteria-based search process for its new Chairman during 2011 led by the Deputy Chairman of Council Sir Roderic Lyne. This process included advice from three external agencies and the development of a long-list of thirty candidates. From this list, sixteen names were reduced to a short-list of 5 front-runners, from which the final appointment was made. 

Stuart Popham 

Stuart Popham joined Citigroup in July 2011 as Vice Chairman EMEA Banking. Until December 2010, he was the Senior Partner, Worldwide, at Clifford Chance LLP, one of the world's leading law firms where he chaired the firm's Partnership Council, the supervisory board of the worldwide firm.

He joined Clifford Chance in 1976 and was elected to the Partnership in 1984. He held various roles within the firm, including leading the Banking and Finance practice areas between 1999 and 2003, becoming the Senior Partner in 2003. 

Stuart Popham chairs TheCityUK which promotes the role of financial services in the UK economy. Stuart is also a member of the Business Advisory Forum of the Saïd Business School, Oxford University. He is a non-executive director of Legal and General Insurance and is a Patron of the Whitehall Industry Group. Stuart is a member of the CBI and was for a number of years Chair of the London Region and sat on the Chairman's and other committees. He is an International Envoy for London. He has been a member of Council at Chatham House since 2005. 

DeAnne Julius 

Dr DeAnne Julius is Chairman of Chatham House and an Independent Non-Executive Director of Deloitte (UK), Roche Holdings SA (Switzerland), and Jones Lang LaSalle (USA). She also serves on the advisory boards of UK and US hedge funds and is Vice President of the Society of Business Economists in the UK. 

From 1997 to 2001, Dr Julius was a founder member of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Bank of England. From 2001 to 2004, she served on the Court of the Bank. Prior to joining the MPC, she held a number of positions in the private sector including Chief Economist at British Airways and Shell. 

* University of Pennsylvania Global Index of Think Tanks 


Keith Burnet, Communications Director, Chatham House 

+44 7714 200 920