28 August 2013


Hillary Rodham Clinton, US Secretary of State (2009-13), has been voted the winner of the Chatham House Prize 2013.

Members of The Royal Institute of International Affairs at Chatham House have selected Hillary Rodham Clinton in recognition of her personal leadership in driving a new era of US diplomatic engagement and for her particular focus on promoting education and rights for women and girls.

The Prize is presented annually to the statesperson deemed by members of The Royal Institute of International Affairs at Chatham House to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

Secretary Clinton will be presented with a crystal award and a scroll, signed by Her Majesty The Queen, patron of the institute, at a ceremony in London in autumn 2013. Previous winners of the award include Burmese democracy campaigner Aung San Suu Kyi and President Lula of Brazil.

Dr Robin Niblett, director of Chatham House, said: 'I warmly congratulate Hillary Clinton on being awarded this year's Chatham House Prize. As Secretary of State she brought renewed energy to US diplomacy at a critical moment in international affairs, deepening key bilateral relations and strengthening US regional alliances. Her determination to reinforce the linkages between the goals of US diplomacy and development delivered significant achievements, especially in fostering new opportunities for girls and women across the world.'

Notes to Editors

About the Chatham House Prize

The process to select the nominees of the Prize draws on the recommendations of the institute's research teams and the advice of its three Presidents - Lord Paddy Ashdown, Sir John Major, and Baroness Patricia Scotland. Chatham House members then vote for the winner in a ballot. The winner is presented with a crystal award and a scroll signed by the institute's Patron, Her Majesty The Queen. More.


There were two other nominees for the Chatham House Prize 2013:

  • Tendai Laxton Biti, Finance Minister, Zimbabwe (2009-)
  • Juan Manuel Santos, President, Republic of Colombia (2010-)

Award Ceremony

Details about the award ceremony will be announced in due course.

Media Enquiries

For all media enquiries, please contact the [staff 176571 194010]

Press Office Contacts

Nicola Norton
Media Relations Manager
Direct: +44 (0)20 7314 3687
Mobile: +44 (0)7917 757 528
Email: Nicola Norton

Francis Grove-White
Media and Government Relations Officer
Direct: +44 (0)20 7957 5725
Mobile: +44 (0)7411 186 950
Email: Francis Grove-White

Solomon Schonfield
Communications Outreach Officer
Direct: +44 (0)20 7314 2771
Mobile: +44 (0)7906 565 925
Email: Solomon Schonfield