4 October 2013


Former US Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton will be presented with the Chatham House Prize in London on Friday 11 October.

Secretary Clinton will also take part in an event with Dr Robin Niblett, Director of Chatham House, discussing a number of key issues, before attending an award ceremony at Banqueting House to accept the institute’s annual award in recognition of her contribution to the significant improvement of international relations.

The Chatham House Prize ceremony will include a speech by Rt Hon William Hague, UK Foreign Secretary and the presentation, by HRH The Duke of York, of a crystal award and scroll, signed by HM The Queen, Patron of the institute.

Hillary Rodham Clinton was voted the winner of this year’s Chatham House Prize by members of the Royal Institute of International Affairs, who selected her in recognition of her personal leadership in driving a new era of US diplomatic engagement and for her promotion of education and rights for women and girls.

Notes to Editors

Event at Chatham House

Secretary Clinton will visit Chatham House for a members event moderated by Chatham House Director Dr Robin Niblett. The event will be livestreamed and available here at 16.30 BST on Friday 11 October.

15.45-16.15: Registration at Chatham House, 10 St James’s Square, SW1Y 4LE
16.30-17.30: Hillary Rodham Clinton event with Dr Robin Niblett, Director, Chatham House

Ceremony at Banqueting House

18.30-19.00: Arrive Banqueting House, Whitehall, SW1A 2ER
19.45-20.00: Formal Presentation by HRH The Duke of York and remarks by Secretary Clinton
21.00: Keynote speeches and remarks including the Rt Hon William Hague MP

Secretary Clinton will visit Chatham House on the afternoon of Friday 11 October for a members event moderated by Chatham House Director Dr Robin Niblett. More information. - See more at: http://dev.website.chathamhouse.mwdev.co.uk/events/chatham-house-prize#sthash.ven5GE5x.dpuf

About the Chatham House Prize

The process to select the nominees of the Prize draws on the recommendations of the institute's research teams and the advice of its three Presidents - Lord Paddy Ashdown, Sir John Major, and Baroness Patricia Scotland. Chatham House members then vote for the winner in a ballot. The winner is presented with a crystal award and a scroll signed by the institute's Patron, Her Majesty The Queen. More.


There were two other nominees for the Chatham House Prize 2013:

  • Tendai Laxton Biti, Finance Minister, Zimbabwe (2009-)
  • Juan Manuel Santos, President, Republic of Colombia (2010-)

Award Ceremony

Details about the award ceremony will be announced in due course.

Media Enquiries

For all media enquiries, please contact the Press Office

Press Office Contacts

Nicola Norton
Media Relations Manager
Direct: +44 (0)20 7314 3687
Email: Nicola Norton

Francis Grove-White
Media and Government Relations Officer
Direct: +44 (0)20 7957 5725
Email: Francis Grove-White

Solomon Schonfield
Communications Outreach Officer
Direct: +44 (0)20 7314 2771
Email: Solomon Schonfield