20 March 2014


Dr Robin Niblett, director of Chatham House, has been invited by NATO Secretary-General Anders Fogh Rasmussen to chair a new group of policy experts, tasked with providing him and the North Atlantic Council with ideas on how to strengthen the Alliance's transatlantic bond.

The group, which includes the heads of a number of other major European and North American institutes, is one of three bodies invited by the secretary-general to contribute its proposals ahead of the 2014 NATO Summit in Wales.

Along with the NATO Parliamentary Assembly and a group of emerging leaders selected by the Atlantic Council, the group of policy experts will generate recommendations for how the Alliance must adapt to the changing international context of the 21st century. These recommendations will be debated by NATO Foreign Ministers in Brussels in June as they prepare the agenda for the summit in September 2014.

Dr Robin Niblett says: “I am very pleased to be given the opportunity to chair this distinguished group. Chatham House has been involved in debates around the role of NATO since its inception, and it is a privilege to be involved in this important initiative as the Alliance considers its future role and capabilities.

“Given the existential questions that are posed by its withdrawal from Afghanistan at the end of this year, and recent developments in Ukraine, the 2014 Summit will be one of the most significant in NATO's recent history. Our group looks forward to sharing its ideas on how best to sustain a strong transatlantic bond at a time of profound change.”

Notes to Editors

The other members of the policy expert group are:

  • Martin Butora, Head, Institute of Public Affairs, Bratislava
  • Ivo Daalder, President, The Chicago Council on Global Affairs, Chicago
  • Camille Grand, Director, Foundation for Strategic Research, Paris
  • Robin Niblett (Chair), Director, Chatham House, London
  • Ana Palacio, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain and Member of the Council of State, Madrid
  • Roland Paris, Director, Centre for International Policy Studies, Ottawa
  • Volker Perthes, Director, German Institute for International and Security Affairs, Berlin
  • Nathalie Tocci, Deputy Director, Institute of International Affairs, Rome
  • Sinan Ülgen, Director, Centre for Economics and Foreign Policy Studies, Istanbul
  • Marcin Zaborowski, Director, The Polish Institute of International Affairs, Warsaw

Read the NATO press release.

Watch Secretary-General Anders Fogh Rasmussen discuss the initiative.