20 March 2015


Chatham House is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2015 Chatham House Prize. 

The nominees are: 

  • Mahamadou Issoufou, President of the Republic of Niger
  • Médecins Sans Frontières
  • Angela Merkel, Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany
  • Juan Manuel Santos, President of the Republic of Colombia 

The Chatham House Prize is awarded to the person or organization deemed to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year. 

The winner will be announced later this year and an award ceremony will take place in the autumn. 

More about the 2015 nominees 

About the Chatham House Prize 

The selection proceed for the nominees draws on the expertise of Chatham House's research teams and three presidents - Lord Ashdown, Sir John Major and Baroness Scotland. Our members are then invited to vote for the winner in a ballot. The winner will be announced later this year. 

The winner will receive a crystal award and a scroll signed by our Patron, Her Majesty the Queen. An award ceremony will take place in London with keynote speeches by leading figures in international affairs. 

Previous winners include: Melinda Gates (2014); Hillary Rodham Clinton, former US Secretary of State (2013); Sheikh Rached Ghannouchi, Head of the Ennahdha movement, Tunisia and Dr Moncef Marzouki, President of Tunisia (2012); Aung San Suu Kyi, Burmese democracy campaigner (2011); HE Abdullah Gül, President of Turkey (2010), HE President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva of Brazil (2009), President John Kufuor of Ghana (2008), HH Sheikha Mozah, Chairperson, Qatar Foundation (2007), HE Joaquim Chissano, former President of Mozambique (2006) and HE President Victor Yushchenko of Ukraine (2005). 

More about the Prize and previous winners