Chatham House Prize 2018: The Committee to Protect Journalists

The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) has been voted the winner of this year’s Chatham House Prize.

Special event Recording
28 November 2018 — 5:30PM TO 7:00PM
Chatham House | 10 St James's Square | London | SW1Y 4LE

A free press provides an essential check and balance on government by scrutinizing policymaking and public administration and helping to promote honesty, accountability and transparency in the exercise of executive, legislative and judicial power.

But as the rules-based liberal international order has come under pressure over the last decade, and technological advances have given the world a variety of platforms to publish news and opinion, so the fourth estate has found itself facing a number of challenges in fulfilling this watchdog role. Chief among these challenges, as recent news has demonstrated, is ensuring that journalists are free to report the news safely and without reprisal.

The Committee to Protect Journalists has been awarded the 2018 Chatham House Prize by the institute’s membership in recognition of its efforts to defend the right of journalists to work without fear at a time when the free press is under serious pressure in many parts of the world.

At this event, the prize is awarded to the executive director of the committee, Joel Simon, who then details some of the key threats to journalists, before joining a panel discussion that will further explore the risks currently faced by journalists around the world and the actions being undertaken to address them.

About the Chatham House Prize

The Chatham House Prize is presented to the person, persons or organization deemed by members of Chatham House to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

The selection process is independent, democratic and draws on the deep knowledge of Chatham House’s research teams, making the Prize a distinctive and unique award in the field of international affairs.

A short-list of nominees is selected by the institute’s three presidents from a longer list submitted by the research programmes and departments in their areas of expertise. The recipient is then determined by Chatham House’s broad membership base on a one-member, one-vote basis.


Recipient: Joel Simon, Executive Director, The Committee to Protect Journalists

Lynsey Addario, Freelance photojournalist

Mona Eltahawy, Freelance journalist

Maria Ressa, Executive Editor, Rappler

Frans Everts, Executive Vice President, External Relations, Royal Dutch Shell

The Baroness Manningham-Buller LG DCB, President, Chatham House

Chair: Dr Robin Niblett CMG, Director, Chatham House